Panic Attacks in Swim Leg

Swim Start, World 70.3 Champs, Las Vegas

David Brown of the Washington Post wrote an article on panic attacks in the swim leg of Triathlons. (See link below)

Panic attacks may come in many disguises and at various levels and even I suffered one at the World 70.3 Championships in Las Vegas. It was my first non wetsuit swim and I hadn’t factored this into my physical or mental preparation, so went off at full taps when the race started for our wave the 50+.

7-800m later I had literally hit a brick wall and was forced to slow down, hyperventilating, swimming doggy paddle, breastroke and being swum over. Fortunately for me I’ve swum in the sea and been dumped/barreled by huge waves and have learnt not to panic, plus we train to overcome overexerting ourselves. So I did not panic, recovered and was able to race on.

The reason I am posting this is that there are so many novices in our sport and the swim is daunting, particularly in the Ocean, so it is important that they prepare themselves mentally for the challenges, the pushing and shoving, the escalated heart rate from starting too fast.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/health-science/deaths-in-triathlons-may-not-be-so-mysterious-panic-attacks-may-be-to-blame

9 thoughts on “Panic Attacks in Swim Leg

  1. When you get to Washington Post page, scroll down and on RHS you will see section entitled most popular. #1 Is ‘Deaths in Triathlon’….. uurrgghh, please don’t be put off.

  2. Hi my friend! I want to say that this article is amazing, great
    written and come with almost all vital infos. I’d like to see extra posts like this .

  3. I have been exploring for a bit for any high
    quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of house .
    Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this website.
    Reading this info So i’m satisfied to exhibit that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I so much definitely will make certain to don?t overlook this site and give it a glance on a constant basis.

  4. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just too magnificent.
    I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way
    in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care
    of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read far more from you.
    This is really a tremendous website.

    • Thank you very much, I actually enjoy writing/sharing this type of information, but am a little time poor so don’t get to as much as I’d like. However, with the encouragement I’m getting from people like you I’m motivated to do more.

Leave a comment