How to guarantee a Kona Finish?

Alec Riddle was weighing in at 230 Pounds (103,5kg) when his teenage stepson passed tragically in 2004. This was the catalyst to getting him back on the road and while it only took 7 years for him to win his Age Group at Ironman 70.3, it took him 27 years to achieve his goal of racing the Ironman World Championships in Kona, Hawaii only to discover he needed a Plan B, something he wasn’t prepared forcropped-ironman-kona-2012-0331.jpg

“Most Kona participants are so focussed on their preparation, that they don’t contemplate anything other than achieving their Goals. So when failure (or derailment) comes knocking on their door, they don’t now how to answer it”, said Alec Riddle, who won the 50-54 Age Group at Ironman 70.3 Worlds in as Vegas 2011.

You are probably double checking your math skills, but the former Mathematics teacher  assures me it was a 27 year goal and not a 7 year goal. So rewind and check the stats for the 27 year Kona Dream if you like, alternatively read on and glean some tips on how to adapt to a Plan B just in case it’s not your day.

David Smith came across ‘The Riddle of an Ironman’s Life’ Blog and thought that there were some important lessons for Ironman athletes on the eve of the Ironman World Championships in Kona, Hawaii.  David asked former World Champion Alec Riddle about the challenges and obstacles he has faced and how he responded, ensuring he finished every race he started.

DS: When you finally made it to the Ironman World Championships in Kona, Hawaii what was your goal?

AR: Having done well in Las Vegas in 2011 I was fired up and I was in great shape, so I was aiming for the Podium.

DS: Did you ever stop to contemplate not making the Podium or Top 10 in your Age Group?

AR: I don’t think many of the world’s top Age Groupers contemplate failure and I certainly don’t. I think that most of us have an inherent belief that we can achieve our goals. We are prepared to make the huge sacrifices required to give us the best possible chance of success and sitting down thinking about things that could derail our plans are a no go area for many.

DS: Here is an overview of his Kona Race, but let’s focus on his Mental Challenges,

An Ironman Finish Line = An unbelieavable feeling!
An Ironman Finish Line = An unbelieavable feeling!

 the Lessons Learnt and the Advice that he could offer to Age Groupers racing Kona 2015.

DS: Did you ever think of quitting?

AR: That word is not in the Riddle Dictionary, so no it never crossed my mind and besides I had waited 27 years to get to that Island so I wasn’t going to raise the white flag.

DS: Three years on what do you remember most about Kona 2012?

AR: Besides the build up and the start, it would have to be running that final mile. To run where I had only seen (on video or live tracker) the likes of Paula Newby Fraser, Mark Allen and Dave Scott run was amazing. To experience that final mile with the South African flag draped over my shoulders was one of my finest moments in sport and one I will treasure forever.

DS: Even though you finished close to 2 hours slower than targeted?

AR: Make no mistake there were disappointments and I had my own ‘pity party’ in the Lava Fields, in the Energy Lab and on the Queen K, but I built my bridge and got over my river of tears in time to embrace what Ironman is all about, which in my opinion is to finish what you started. I had dreamt of this race for 27 years and I wasn’t going to go home bitter, I was going to go home richer for the experience of having conquered my goal of participating in and finishing the Ironman World Championships.

DS: When you were walking and pushing your bike for almost an hour, what was going through your mind?

AR: Two things, firstly I was trying to come to terms with the fact that I was no longer in the ‘race’ and that my dream of a podium or top ten was over. Believe me I was mad, initially I was trying the blame game where it was everybody’s fault but mine, but eventually I had to start manning up and taking responsibility for not checking the spare that had been put on my bike. There were times I was shouting at the sky, the wind, the lava rocks and the cyclists passing me must have thought I was mad and heading for the Cuckoo’s Nest, it must have been quite an experience being a fly on the wall.

The second was worse than the first and that was when it dawned on me that I may not finish. I realised that if I continued to push my bike for 30 odd miles (50km), there was no way that i could do that plus complete a marathon before midnight. (I hadn’t even factored in a bike cut off as I am one of the fortunate folk who has never had to worry about being checked out on time and it cannot be pleasant for those that do). That is when panic set in and I started flagging down every official and referee pleading with them to summon bike support. Fortunately I eventually managed to get a makeshift rear wheel from bike support (they were out of spares) and rode into Kona with no rear brakes and a fixed gear, which was quite an experience in itself.

DS: How did you motivate yourself for the run?

AR: On my Ironman Journey there have been many obstacles along the way and it’s as if I was groomed for these challenges. I had learnt to persevere so I was very motivated going out onto the run. The highlight of my day was seeing my 12 year old son Jamie shortly after the turn on Alii Drive…. he had run all the way (8km) in slops to support me.

Conrad Stoltz giving Jamie Riddle a few tips n the Energy Lab

Conrad Stoltz giving Jamie Riddle a few tips n the Energy Lab, with Liesel in the background.

Then I encountered Conrad Stoltz and his wife Liesel on their bikes, who had heard of my troubles and had ridden out to come and offer some support. The Stoltz’s then very kindly offered Jamie Liesel’s bike so that he could support me on the run (yes they do allow this in Hawaii which is quite unique) and that led to one of the most amazing running experiences of my life.

There I was running along and listening to my son’s comments and I knew that he had been listening all those years I had been encouraging him. The comments ranged from “Pain is your best friend” to “You Can, You Will, You Want To”, but the best was when he said “Okay Dad I want you to imagine you have a fishing rod, cast and see the hook landing on that guy in the red. Now reel him in nice and steady.” It was classic and as much as I wanted to cry all I could do was smile as Jamie kept me motivated.

DS: Where there any difficult patches on the run?

AR: Only one and it had nothing to do with fatigue or personal disappointment. It was when we were coming towards the end of the Queen K and it was getting dark (yes I was unable to finish before sunset) that I made one of the hardest decisions of my life. I told Jamie he had to go back (there was no lamp on the bike) as it could be dangerous once it got dark. I recall him saying “Dad you need your best friend with you to motivate you” and I recall saying to him Jamie I have to take my ‘friend’ cap off and put my ‘Dad’ cap on and send you back. As he was riding off I called for him to hand me the SA Flag and as he turned to hand it to me before riding into the sunset, I saw the tears streaming down his face…. that is when I broke down and all the bottled up emotions came to the fore. I had been averaging 5 min/km (8 min/mile) but now I had the wind taken out of my sails and I was virtually walking as I battled my emotions.

DS: Take us through your final mile?

AR: I knew that I had to conquer my emotions and rid myself of the tears before hitting the final mile, as this was going to be a celebration and I was going to enjoy and savour at least one mile of the 140 I had come to race. I think I enjoyed that final mile more than I had enjoyed any mile in any Ironman, even the ones where I had raced successfully. I was able to interact with some of the spectators, encourage fellow competitors who were still racing for time or position, while my ‘race’ lay in tatters somewhere near Hawi. It was simply amazing being able to pause and to reflect on my Journey, to think about my late Stepson Reece who had been the catalyst to me getting started in Ironman some 8 years earlier and to think about my late Dad who had passed the previous year and had been my biggest inspiration.

DS: What would your message be to the Age Groupers racing on Saturday?

AR: Don’t make the mistake of going into an Ironman without contemplating a Plan B. We have no control over what hand we are dealt in sport or in life, but we certainly can commit to make the best of the hand we are dealt. There is no disgrace in not achieving your goal (time/position) but your ultimate goal has to be finishing, especially on the Big Island at the World Championships. You will get over the disappointment of not making your goal, but you will forever treasure that medal and remember this, all the medals are the same colour, whether you win the race outright or finish just in time.

Also, remember to check everything. I had taken my bike for a service and asked them to put an extension on my spare ‘tubular’ and tape it under my front aero bottle. I never thought to check it and only when I punctured did I discover the extension was suitable for a Zipp 404 (my front wheel) but would not fit a Zipp 808 (my rear wheel). I had taken unpaid leave and spent 3 months in America and Hawaii, only to be taken out of the race because of an extension that was half an inch too short. They say sport is about seconds or inches and I discovered that the hard way.

Racing as though my life depended upon it

Racing as though my life depended upon it

 

In pursuit of the 'finish' with a borrowed wheel, supplied by Bike Works.

In pursuit of the ‘finish’ with a borrowed wheel, supplied by Bike Works.

 

 

 

 

 

DS: What if it all appears too much for them in the race?

AR: I think there are only two reasons you stop, the first is if your health is at risk or if you are checked out time wise. Otherwise you should never raise the white flag, slow down by all means , try and not think too far ahead and focus on trying to push on one step at a time. I can recall racing Ironman South Africa in 2009 and in my mind I was one of the favourites for the AG win, but I blew both physically and mentally and ended up doing a 6hr 15 min marathon. I was close to quitting but my wife, my family and my friends kept me going. It was the hardest thing I ever did, but by far the most rewarding and I have used that experience to encourage so many others. Can you imagine if I had bailed? The preparation, the effort and the experience would have been worthless.

DS: It seems the Ironman is more a mental challenge than a physical one?

AR: I think it’s a blend. For the top Age Groupers you are pushing the envelope and if you stray over the red line you will pay for it at some stage in the race. Then it becomes a mental challenge, but one thing to bear in mind is that the mind can only hold onto one thought at a time. Think of it like this, your mind has two Supervisors Mr Be Good and Mr No Good and they are both competing for your thoughts. So if you think negative thoughts then Mr No Good goes to work and starts recruiting more workers (Mr Be Good is forced to lay off some of his team), but if Mr Be Good is hard at work then he recruits more workers and he becomes the dominant force. So force feed your mind positive thoughts as often as you can. I choose to express thanks for not getting kicked in the swim, for not losing my goggles, etc. It is amazing the positive momentum you can build simply by expressing thanks. (learnt from Heather Gollnick at Iron Prayer in Clearwater 2009)

DS: Any other thoughts?

AR: You probably never got there on your own, as great things are accomplished with the support of many (team). You may be living your Dream, but there are many (friends and family) who share your dream so if it is getting too much for you, think of the rest of the team before you raise the white flag. Believe me they will be proud of you finishing irrespective of time, but they won’t be too charmed if you walk off the course. Make sure you can say I have finished the race (2 Timothy 4:7).

DS: What were some of your highlights of the Kona experience?

At Living Stones Church with Conrad Stoltz, Chris Lieto and Kyle Buckingham

At Living Stones Church with Conrad Stoltz, Chris Lieto and Kyle Buckingham

AR: The best was Manta Ray Night Diving; watching the kids jump off the cliffs at the “End of the World” was also a highlight and going to the Living Stones Church on Alii Drive was pretty awesome.

DS: I would like to thank Alec for his time and sharing his experiences and laying bear his innermost thoughts and emotions. I trust you may find some inspiration when the going gets tough, as that is when the tough need to get going. Even I feel I could march on, irrespective of the obstacles.

 

 

Kona, Hawaii

Kona, Hawaii

 

 

Manta Ray Night Diving-what an expereince

Manta Ray Night Diving-what an experience

Entering the Energy Lab with my children Camryn & Jamie

Entering the Energy Lab with my children Camryn & Jamie

YES, you Can, you Will, you Want to!!

YES, you Can, you Will, you Want to!!

 

Leave a comment